Winter Blues Fav: Hot Drinks For Colds and Flu

Hey everyone! Unfortunately, I have been extremely sick *cough cough* which is why I haven’t posted..I feel like there’s a giant handful of cotton wool in my head, nose and throat, YUCK! So, I had the bright idea (I’m fulla’ those)  of sharing my favourite hot beverages that I drink more of or only when I’m sick.

LET’S GO!

Keeping it British

dsc00309.jpg

I don’t actually drink as much British Tea as I used to but when I am ill I- I really do go for it. It all came from this one time I had a cold and I was adamant that it wouldn’t last longer than two days.  So I drank this tea pretty much one after the other and my cold was gone the next day. **disclaimer** I don’t actually think it was the tea but this doesn’t stop me.

Give me the green light

dsc00304.jpgGreen tea is great for flushing out all of those baddies with its well known antioxidant properties. However, in my opinion, plain green tea tasted like concentrated grass so I suggest green tea with jasmine as this is my absolute favourite. Green tea WITH something is suggested if you’re like me and can’t stand the taste of it plain.

Ginger and – honey you so fine!

Ginger and honey is the first drink I have in the morning, as it’s quite refreshing and soothing when you have a cold/flu. The ginger will speed up the rate at which your stomach does its job and the honey helps to soothe sore throats and digestive issues (does a better job than cough syrups). The aroma of this tea also just helps to clear my sinuses, so I like to inhale the steam from the cup as I drink.

Time to turmeric up..

This tea I make myself, it does require a certain level of energy that comes from deep within (I get very lazy when I’m ill). It’s a turmeric tea that is honestly just so great for flushing out your system, clearing your sinuses and just restoring some energy. It’s very simple, you just add the water and then add your ingredients bit by bit or and all at once, you’re choice!

 

  • 2 cups of water
  • 1/4 tsp turmeric
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 giant tbsp honey
  • A medium sized cube of raw ginger

And that’s it!

I’m hoping to feel better soon and get back into the flow of things..If anyone else is also ill, get better soon and maybe try out some of these teas?

Autumn xo

2 thoughts on “Winter Blues Fav: Hot Drinks For Colds and Flu

  1. Tracy - The Feminine Code says:

    Love the turmeric tea – It is so warming! My household has been full of the cold virus too and we have been making up some wonderful concoctions. My fav is ginger shots, made with fresh raw ginger, honey and rum. Tastes good and hits the spot to clear congestion, reduce feverish symptoms and aids a good nights sleep. Hope you get better soon x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

